TURKISH Parliament

Parliamentary Elections

According to Article 66 of the Constitution of Republic of Turkey, the electoral laws must be in compliance with the principles of fair representation and administrative stability. Since the beginning of the multi-party system in 1946, different electoral systems have been adopted.

Parliamentary elections are held every four years. Currently, a system of proportional representation with a national threshold of 10% is valid. Accordingly, political parties that cannot obtain more than 10% of valid votes throughout the country cannot win seat(s) in the Assembly.

Parliamentary elections shall be held in accordance with the principles of a general and secret vote and open counting. The parliamentary election shall start on the first day of a period of 90 days before the voting date. An election ends when the Supreme Board of Election announces the results in the Official Gazette.

Turkish general election, 2018

General elections are scheduled to occur throughout Turkey on 24 June 2018. Originally due on 3 November 2019, President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan announced that the vote was being brought forward on 18 April 2018. Presidential elections will be held to elect the President of Turkey using a two-round system, with the first round taking place on 24 June and a second round (if necessary) due to occur two weeks after on 8 July. Parliamentary elections will take place to elect 600 Members of Parliament to the Grand National Assembly of Turkey.

Turkish Delegations to the International Parliamentary Assemblies

International parliamentary assemblies are specific organizations in the international arena whose decisions do not have a binding effect on countries and governments.

The Grand National Assembly of Turkey becomes a member of an international parliamentary assembly with a decision of the Plenary upon a proposal of the Speaker. Currently, the Assembly has already been represented in 10 international parliamentary assemblies.


The number of deputies representing the GNAT in parliamentary assemblies varies according to the criteria foreseen in the Rules of Procedure.  The deputies representing the GNAT in these parliamentary assemblies are nominated according to Law No. 3620 and the internal regulations of political party groups. Political party groups, in proportion to their powers, shall be represented in delegations to the international parliamentary assemblies.

The nominees of the political party groups are considered as elected when the Plenary is informed of their names by the Office of the Speaker.

The deputies attending international meetings are required to have a good command of French or English, or one of the languages ​​used at the meetings.

Turkey’s delegations to international parliamentary assemblies are as follows:

a. Parliamentary Assembly of the Mediterranean (PAM)

b. Asian Parliamentary Assembly (APA)

c. Parliamentary Assembly of the Union for the Mediterranean (PAUFM)

d. Parliamentary Assembly of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCEPA)

e. Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE)

f. Parliamentary Union of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (PUIC)

g. The Parliamentary Assembly of Black Sea Economic Cooperation (PABSEC)

h. The Parliamentary Assembly of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATOPA)

 i. The Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU)

 j. The Parliamentary Assembly of Turkic-Speaking Countries (TURKPA)

 k.Parliamentary Assembly of Economic Cooperation Organization (PAECO)

              l.South East European Cooperation Process Parliamentary Assembly (SEECPPA)

Website: https://global.tbmm.gov.tr/index.php/EN/yd/

  • 06 May 2018
  • Visited: 20037
  • News ID: 3938
  • Source:

Image Gallery

Comment form

* Name:
* Email Address:
* Comment:
* Please enter the security code in the box:
I have read and agree to the terms Terms and Condition